Announcement for nominations for the IFSA Fellows

As always, during the IFSA World Congress, held this year in Japan in the end of June (<u>http://ifsa-scis2017.j-soft.org/</u>), IFSA will award a number of prominent members of the fuzzy sets/system community with the IFSA Fellow award. According to a long tradition there will be some 8 recipients. The selection process will be run by the IFSA Fellows Committee:

Janusz Kacprzyk (chair) Laszlo T. Koczy, Ching-Teng Lin, Ronald R. Yager and Takeshi Yamakawa (members)

It is of utmost importance that we select the best people who are distinguished contributors to and whose works have had a significant impact on fuzzy logic/systems, both in theory and applications, and who have served the community, including their devotion to IFSA and its institutional members.

We wish to solicit the nomination of candidates from the IFSA Fellow Award. To make the process highly selective, objective and efficient, the nominations can be provided by:

- the members of the current IFSA Council (President, immediate Past

President, President-Elect, Treasurer, Vice-Presidents)

- the former IFSA Fellows
- the former Presidents of IFSA,
- the representatives of IFSA institutional members in good standing,
- the members of the IFSA Fellows Committee.

Each of the persons listed has the right to submit in principle one nomination, or exceptionally two, notably when they concern nominations for both theoretical and practical achievements. The nomination should include: the candidate(s) name(s) with a short justification, a link to his/her official Web page (with CV, list of publications, etc.) or the CV and list of publications attached, and information that the candidate has confirmed his/her consent to be nominated. The above nomination information should be by email to Professor Janusz Kacprzyk, Chair of the IFSA Fellows Committee to: kacprzyk@ibspan.waw.pl. with the subject "IFSA Fellow nomination"

Please try to send your nominations as soon as possible but no later than by May 21, 2017. To ensure confidentiality and objectivity of thisselection process, please send your nomination(s) just to the email listed above and not to any email list of eligible nominators.

The IFSA Fellow Committee will run the selection process and communicate the results to the IFSA Council in the end of May, 2017 so that the granting the IFSA Fellow Awards proceed during the next IFSA World Congress in the end of June, 2017.

Professor Janusz Kacprzyk, Ph.D., D.Sc., D.h.c. (mult.)

Fellow of IEEE, IFSA, ECCAI, SMIA
Full Member, Polish Academy of Sciences
Member, Academia Europaea
Member, European Academy of Sciences and Arts
Foreign Member, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences,
Foreign Member, Spanish Royal Academy of Economic and Financial Sciences (RACEF)

President, Polish Operational and Systems Research Society Past President of IFSA (International Fuzzy Systems Association)

Systems Research Institute Polish Academy of Sciences ul. Newelska 6 01-447 Warsaw Poland